Luigi Auriemma

aluigi.org (ARCHIVE-ONLY FORUM!)
It is currently 19 Jul 2012 12:36

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: COD4 Demo Files
PostPosted: 15 Aug 2009 00:00 

Hey there,

just found the way to your forums. Since I'm not very experienced in de/encoding, I'm impressed what you guys could do with your knowhow.

My question is about the dm_1- Format of COD4. These Demofiles are encoded in any way and i cant figure out how to get the info out of them.
Is there a way?

Greetings from Germany,
MOnsDaR

Post subject: Re: COD4 Demo Files
PostPosted: 15 Aug 2009 10:53 

I don't know the format, anyway no encryption is involved (the initial block of data which looks "strange" is handled at a first step by 00609a90 but no encryption or similar stuff is involved)

PostPosted: 16 Aug 2009 18:15 

Ok, i thought it gives a relatively easy way to read data from those files. But unfortunately it does not seem so :/

Perhaps i'll reactivate this research after my current projects more deeply. The earned results then will be posted along this thread for sure.

PostPosted: 17 Aug 2009 16:11 

i kept my mouth shut and wanted to see Luigi's reply first, so when Luigi doesn't seem to know much about demo files, ..isn't it .dem file extension ? cuz "dm_1- Format of COD4" doesn't say much.

for example in half-life and also source games, .dem, which is fully called "demo file" is a capture of the gameplay. in old half-life you type "record filename" into console and it starts recording your gameplay, afterwards you can play it back using the "play" command in console and then record it with screencapture program. so you can make perfect videos without lag.