Luigi Auriemma

aluigi.org (ARCHIVE-ONLY FORUM!)
It is currently 19 Jul 2012 11:59

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
 Post subject: Jedi Academy Theory
PostPosted: 30 Nov 2008 05:43 

Ok, I have thought up a brilliant idea, I bring it here to be told if it would be possible, and if so how.

Well, I started playing around with stealing rcon passwords and such a few days back. I sucessfully downloaded the server config and have stolen an rcon password through the allow downloading bug. I know that there are some who have sucessfully hacked servers that have sv_allowdownloading set to 0. Infact I have witnessed it. So, I have been looking into it.

I think I have figured out a way to steal the rcon password from servers with sv_allowdownloading set to 0. But here is my question:

Is it possible to log the packets sent to the server? If it is, how would one go about doing that?

If we can find a way to log the packets sent, one of those packets would contain the rcon password. (That is, if someone logs into the rcon while we are logging.)

Answer back ASAP

-Genius

Post subject: Re: Jedi Academy Theory
PostPosted: 30 Nov 2008 15:08 

have you a minimal idea of how works rcon or a client-server software in general?
you are not a server and are you not a hub/proxy/centre_of_the_world which can magically see the packets of the other clients...
another thread for the trash sections

PostPosted: 30 Nov 2008 16:44 

It was just a theory, and yes I know how client-server works.

PostPosted: 30 Nov 2008 21:21 

oviously you don't know how client-server works.
you would need access to server itself to monitor packets. or to ISP which hosts the server. For example, you can compare this idea with this: