Luigi Auriemma

aluigi.org (ARCHIVE-ONLY FORUM!)
It is currently 19 Jul 2012 13:35

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
 Post subject: Modifying Packets
PostPosted: 20 Mar 2011 21:57 

Hello,

I have been trying to modify packets for quite a while and for this I have used tools like WPEpro, redox packet editor(kinda like wpe but more advanced) and of course your Proxocket although its a bit too advanced for me, i'm not a coder.

What I am trying to do now is modify a packet's header (or whatever its called the string BEFORE any other data). E.g. I'd like to change the flag on an incoming packet, eg FIN

Please see the pic...this is the empty packet with no data except the header, and WPE or redox dont seem to pick up on it at all, as it is not among the sniffed packets, but wireshark does and this is the screencap. If I would like to change say the FIN value to "not set" how would I do that?

Post subject: Re: Modifying Packets
PostPosted: 20 Mar 2011 22:25 

I understand what you mean but it's a too low level thing so the normal program can't reach it but you can reach the same effect in other ways.

it's clear that in your case you want that a connection gets closed when you receive a certain packet so you can do the same by setting the size of the packet to 0 o setting all its content to 0 or other bad values.

anyway remember that it's a tcp stream so you will never receive the packets as you expect, the rule for the tcp streams is that you can even receive the data 1 byte per packet making really hard to make a filter (you should rebuild the whole packet and then checking the filter, terrible).

PostPosted: 21 Mar 2011 17:33 

aluigi wrote:
it's clear that in your case you want that a connection gets closed when you receive a certain packet so you can do the same by setting the size of the packet to 0 o setting all its content to 0 or other bad values.