Luigi Auriemma

aluigi.org (ARCHIVE-ONLY FORUM!)
It is currently 19 Jul 2012 12:36

All times are UTC [ DST ]





Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Ventrilo 3 - Changing the server port, users can't speak
PostPosted: 02 Apr 2009 18:09 

Joined: 01 May 2008 15:44
Posts: 9
Hi,

I've changed hardcoded port number 3784 to 3783 in few locations :

- when server binds udp socket
- when server binds tcp socket
- when server is sending hash and few more info to centralized servers
- when server sends back an udp packet with hash to each client

All seems to work fine, users can login, change channel, enter chat but they can't speak. Clients instead of sending voice stream filled with their voice are sending an empty voice stream (we can see speakers highlight, but we can't hear someone at all).

I'm pretty sure that there is an switch in some packet that tells client if server is able to use other port that default one.

So there is my question, does someone did it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ventrilo 3 - Changing the server port, users can't speak
PostPosted: 02 Apr 2009 22:59 

Joined: 13 Aug 2007 21:44
Posts: 4068
Location: http://aluigi.org
probably depends by the things you modfied, compare the bytes you modified with the following (standard 3.0.3 server):
Code:
00017321   C8       C7
00017543   C8       C7
0001A549   C8       C7
0001F3D1   C8       C7
0001F6A8   C8       C7
0001F9E5   C8       C7
00023BDD   C8       C7


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ventrilo 3 - Changing the server port, users can't speak
PostPosted: 02 Apr 2009 23:41 

Joined: 08 Jun 2008 07:17
Posts: 92
There's a app here I think it's called Ventrilo Proxy I remember trying to do this exact same thing I don't recall if I managed to get it to work.. but you can check it out, there's not a great documentation about the app but it might help.

You can find Ventrilo Proxy somewhere on this site :o


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ventrilo 3 - Changing the server port, users can't speak
PostPosted: 03 Apr 2009 00:13 

Joined: 01 May 2008 15:44
Posts: 9
It is definitely a switch in some packet. I modyfied a 0x3C packet (with switches that turns on/off some part of client gui like codec per channel, voice/cmd targets, private chats) and replaced 3 at offset 6 to 1. Now I'm able to record my voice and play it later, but still can't hear people "on live".

I will work on it tomorrow, thanks for replys.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ventrilo 3 - Changing the server port, users can't speak
PostPosted: 02 Aug 2009 00:24 

Joined: 01 May 2008 15:44
Posts: 9
Ok, I've made it.

First, you have to modify the 0x3C packet as I posted above:
Code:
.text:0042242A                 or      dword ptr [eax], 20000h  <- just nop it


later, you have to put 0x01 instead of 0x00 in 0x3c at offset 4

Code:
.text:0042241C                 mov     dword ptr [eax], 10000h <- change it to 10001h


It tells the client that server is Public, and if port is != 3784 then ventrilo client will mute us.

You're now probably able to talk, but server will stop answering (you can only recive some packets)after some seconds (60s~ of idle, or it is random I don't remember). You have to remove also "server-side" limit so:

Code:
.text:0040C11B                 cmp     word ptr [esi+10h], 0F137h <- nop it
.text:0040C121                 jz      short loc_40C12A <- change it to jmp


Now you're able to change the port.


Last edited by Filush on 14 Aug 2009 12:43, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ventrilo 3 - Changing the server port, users can't speak
PostPosted: 02 Aug 2009 01:27 

Joined: 08 Jun 2008 07:17
Posts: 92
Thanks for the info, but if I want the port 1234 how would I change it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ventrilo 3 - Changing the server port, users can't speak
PostPosted: 14 Aug 2009 12:50 

Joined: 01 May 2008 15:44
Posts: 9
Code:
00017321   C80E      => D204
00017543   C80E      => D204
0001A549   C80E      => D204
0001F3D1   C80E      => D204
0001F6A8   C80E      => D204
0001F9E5   C80E      => D204
00023BDD   C80E      => D204


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ventrilo 3 - Changing the server port, users can't speak
PostPosted: 05 Sep 2009 16:09 

Joined: 05 Sep 2009 16:06
Posts: 1
Can someone help me understand how I can go about changing it from the default port 3784 to 5553? I think my isp blocks port 3784. If someone could help me change the port so I could at least get some use from their public version, that'd be great. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ventrilo 3 - Changing the server port, users can't speak
PostPosted: 05 Sep 2009 18:28 

Joined: 13 Aug 2007 21:44
Posts: 4068
Location: http://aluigi.org
above examples with b115 instead of D204


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron